Search 4,000 EV News articles

Monday, May 3, 2010

Automotive X PRIZE Teams Arrive at Michigan International Speedway for Start of On-Track Testing

28 teams, representing 36 super fuel efficient vehicles from across the globe will begin arriving at Michigan International Speedway (MIS) in Brooklyn, MI to officially start on-track performance testing for the Progressive Insurance Automotive X PRIZE, a multi-million dollar competition designed to inspire a new generation of viable, production-capable, and super fuel-efficient vehicles that exceed 100 MPGe (miles per gallon or its energy equivalent).

Established automakers, start-ups, universities, inventors, and even a high school are among the diverse groups of teams representing 14 U.S. states and nine countries. These teams are now one step closer to their share of the $10 million prize purse, to be awarded this September to those that survive the rigorous multi-stage competition.

This week’s events at MIS kickoff the first of three on-track performance testing stages—Shakedown, Knockout Qualifying, and Finals—each aimed at evaluating the efficiency, safety, and performance of competition vehicles under real world conditions. At the completion of the Finals Stage on July 30, surviving vehicles move on to Argonne National Laboratory outside of Chicago, IL for three weeks of Validation Testing before the competition winners are announced this September.

The Shakedown Stage, scheduled for April 26-May 7 is a non-scored stage, designed to provide teams a chance to “shake out” their vehicles in advance of the scored Knockout Qualifying Stage in June. Teams will still be judged on their performance, specifically in emissions and efficiency tests, but these scores will not be counted against the overall score that ultimately determines the competition winners. However, only those vehicles that are deemed safe after in-garage inspections and on-track tests will be allowed to progress to the Knockout Qualifying Stage. Though all teams will be afforded opportunities to re-test, they face elimination from the competition if they are unable to pass the prescribed safety evaluations.

While in Michigan, the competition will offer several opportunities for the public and media to see the vehicles and meet the competing teams. Public days are scheduled for June 25 and July 23 as well as an Open House event at MIS to be announced next month. Several media days are also scheduled throughout the competition. The public can also follow the progress of competing teams online at where interactive updates, photos, and videos from MIS will be available throughout the competition.

Winners will be selected from two classes: Mainstream and Alternative. The following is a complete list of the 28 Qualified Teams, along with the class in which they will compete and their fuel type. Note that some teams are entering vehicles in each class. For more information on these teams, please visit

Mainstream Class Teams:
Mainstream Class vehicles must carry four or more passengers, have four or more wheels, and offer a 200-mile range.

American HyPower, Centennial, Colorado (Gasoline, Hydrogen)
APET-X, Hong Kong, China (Electric)
BITW Technologies, Palmyra, Indiana (Biodiesel)
Cornell 100+ MPG Team, Ithaca, New York (Biodiesel)
Edison2, Charlottesville, Virginia (E85)
Enginer, Troy, Michigan (Gasoline + Steam)
Envera, Mill Valley, California (Gasoline)
Global-E, Mandeville, Louisiana (Gasoline & Electric)
Illuminati Motor Works, Virden, Illinois (Electric)
Liberty Motors Group, Botkins, Ohio (Gasoline)
Team FourSight, Morgantown, West Virginia (Biodiesel)
West Philly Hybrid X (EVX), Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Gasoline)
WIKISPEED, Seattle, Washington (Gasoline)

Alternative Class Teams:
Alternative Class vehicles must carry two or more passengers and allow for a 100 mile range.

amp, Blue Ash, Ohio (Electric)
Aptera Motors, Vista, California (Electric)
Edison2, Charlottesville, Virginia (E85)
Envera, Mill Valley, California (Gasoline)
FVT Racing, Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada (Gasoline)
K-Way MOTUS, Turin, Italy (Gasoline)
OptaMotive, San Jose, California (Electric)
RaceAbout Association, Helsinki, Finland (Electric)
Spira, Banglamung, Chonburi, Thailand (Gasoline)
Tango (Commuter Cars), Spokane, Washington (Electric)
Tata Motors Limited, Coventry, United Kingdom (Electric)
Team EVI, Mooresville, North Carolina (Electric)
Team EVX, Dallas, Texas (Electric)
Team FourSight, Morgantown, West Virginia (Electric)
TW4XP, Rosenthal, Germany (Electric)
West Philly Hybrid X (EVX), Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Biodiesel)
Western Washington University, Bellingham, Washington (Gasoline)
X-Tracer Team Switzerland, Uster, Switzerland (Electric)
ZAP, Santa Rosa, California (Electric)

On Thursday, April 29, five competition vehicles— including amp (Blue Ash, Ohio), Commuter Cars (Spokane, WA), Edison2 (Lynchburg, Virginia) and ZAP (Santa Rosa, California)— will be showcased on the lawn of the Michigan State Capitol in a celebratory kickoff event hosted by the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC). MEDC is also serving as host of the Progressive Insurance Automotive X PRIZE on-track testing this spring and summer at MIS.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

No comments:

Post a Comment