Search 4,000 EV News articles

Sunday, May 16, 2010

TTXGP Infineon Race Results

Shawn Higbee took the historic victory on Sunday at Infineon Raceway in the TTXGP U.S. Championships, marking the first-ever zero-carbon motorcycle race in the United States.

The 11-lap race featured eight riders, with Higbee (Zero Motorcycles-Agni) taking the checkers by more than 13 seconds over Michael Barnes (Lightning Motorcycles). Mike Hannas (Electric Race Bikes) was third.

The series debuted globally in 2009 at the Isle of Man in Europe with Agni also taking the win.

Shawn Higbee says: "I think this could turn into something big. It's going to introduce a whole new industry to motorcycling," Higbee said. "The engineers are a whole new breed. I'm surprised at how close we are to gas bikes already. The lack of vibration is a new experience, you just glide along."

Infineon Raceway was the perfect setting for the historical race.

"When you have the first of anything, you never fully know what to expect, but the bikes were fast, the racing was competitive and the spectacle of speed with no engine noise was truly remarkable," said Steve Page, president and general manager of Infineon Raceway.

"Who knows where this can go as the technology develops, but we will always be proud to have hosted the first event and hope we've planted an acorn that can help grow the concept of green performance throughout the industry."

The TTXGP U.S. Championships was part of the West Coast Moto Jam at Infineon Raceway, which also featured AMA Pro Road Racing, Flat Track, Supermoto USA and Flat Track.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

No comments:

Post a Comment