Search 4,000 EV News articles

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Monster Tajima wins EV class with fifth overall @ Pikes Peak

Nine-time Unlimited division champion Nobuhiro “Monster” Tajima has broken the 10 minute barrier with an electric vehicle at Pikes Peak even surpassing the 9:51.278 he turned in during the 2011 race in a 900 hp Suzuki SX4, when he was the first driver ever to crack the Peak’s elusive ten-minute barrier.

The new EV record now stands at 9:46.530 beating the 10:15.380 set by Fumio Nutahara for Toyota Motorsport in 2012 and was just a whisker shy of 2012 outright winner Rhys Millen who set 9:46.164 in a 700 hp Hyundai Genesis.

“I am very happy with my new record,” says the 63 year old Taijma to KRDO News Radio. “I will keep continuing developing and racing the electric car here at Pikes Peak. You can see it as my ‘stop global warming campaign’.”

The outright hill record goal posts have been moved significantly this year by nine time World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb setting a time of 8:13.878 in a 900 hp 900 kg Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak Special.

When asked about beating the new gasoline record, Tajima responded: “We are able to do that very soon, it depends on the battery. With a high quality and high density battery, I can beat that record for sure.”

  • 1st.: Nobuhiro Tajima 9:46.530 OVERALL: 5th!
  • 2nd.: Hiroshi Masuoka 10:21.866 OVERALL: 13th!
  • 3rd.: Greg Tracy 10:23.649 OVERALL: 14th!
  • 4th.: Rod Millen 10:24.301 OVERALL: 16th!

    Source: Pikes Peak Timing

  • Blog Widget by LinkWithin

    No comments:

    Post a Comment